Toro Y Moi’s Visual Album ‘Boo Boo’ Is Pure Perfection

Toro y Moi officially releases his brand new album Boo Boo tomorrow (7 July), however the visual component of the album is streaming ahead of time. The 49-minute film features all of the album’s tracks, and transports the listener into the back seat of the singers ride as he cruises California’s Bay Area at sunset.

The video perfectly matches the albums heavy synth and sun-kissed vibe and serves as a perfect compliment for fans of the music to enjoy the wonderful album together with the singer in the driver’s seat.

Throw the video on your big screen and watch the album in full above!

Read Toro Y Moi’s full statement on Boo Boo:

“After 7 years of touring and recording, I found myself becoming self conscious about my position in life as a ‘famous’ person, or at least my version of whatever that is. My dreams had become my reality, yet I was somehow unable to accept this new environment. I couldn’t help but fall into what might be described as an identity crisis. A feedback loop of fearful thoughts left me feeling confused. I felt as though I no longer knew what it was that I actually wanted and needed in and out of life, and at times I felt unable to even tell what was real.

During this time of personal turmoil, I turned to music as a form of therapy, and it helped me cope with the pain that I was feeling. I’d listen to the same ambient song over and over again, trying to insulate myself from reality. I fell in love with space again.

By the time I felt ready to begin working on a new record, I knew that this idea of space within music would be something that propelled my new work forward. The artists that were influencing what I was making included everyone from Travis Scott to Daft Punk, Frank Ocean to Oneohtrix Point Never, Kashif and Gigi Masin. I recognized that the common thread between these artists was their attention to a feeling of space, or lack thereof. I decided that I wanted to make a Pop record with these ideas in mind. That idea for a record is what eventually became Boo Boo.”

Boo Boo Artwork:

Toro Y Moi

Boo Boo Tracklist:
01. Mirage
02. No Show
03. Mona Lisa
04. Pavement
05. Don’t Try
06. Windows
07. Embarcadero
08. Girl Like You
09. You and I
10. Labyrinth
11. Inside My Head
12. W.I.W.W.T.W.

You can order the album direct from Carpark Records here.